Beat: Local News Anchors

By: Rachel Ibanez

Like a lot of young girls, I had the opportunity to accompany my dad to his workplace. I loved going and went often. I’d help my dad pick out his tie, hairspray his hair and make sure he didn’t have any food in his teeth. We then would walk together into the San Francisco’s Fox affiliate news studio, where he would sit behind the desk and report on the local sports’ news.

My father and me at the 2007 Northern California Area Emmy Awards

My father and me at the 2007 Northern California Area Emmy Awards

When I was little, I’d climb onto the set in between commercial breaks and run around the studio. However, as I grew older, I began to ask his co-workers more questions, observe the producers and watch the controlled chaos that ensues in putting together a television news show. By the time I was a freshman in high school I knew I wanted to pursue being a news anchor and my passion only develops more as time goes by.

Dan Ashley is a local news reporter in San Francisco

Dan Ashley is a local news reporter in San Francisco

There are many award-winning and prestigious local news anchors across the United States. In San Francisco, Dan Ashley is an Emmy Award winning news reporter for the ABC affiliate. He was able to meet with President Barack Obama in an exclusive interview to the Bay Area. In Chicago, Allison Rosati is also an Emmy Award winning news anchor. Tracy Barry is a well-known and esteemed news anchor in Portland.

I look forward to speaking to more professionals and pursuing my dream job of being a local news anchor.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

