Beat: Rap

I remember hiding my explicit compact discs from my mom when I was 10 years old. She would not dare let her son listen to 50 Cent. “Get Rich or Die Tryin'” was the first album that started my love of rap music. “Get By” was the first rap song that made me love of the art form of rap music. Fast forward ten years and here I am typing this as I listen to Nas’s “Illmatic”. My love for rap music will never stop. Rap music gives a voice to the voiceless.. Any inner-city child can pick up a pen and pad and get to work.

I am choosing rap music as my beat because rap music is what I live and breathe. 6 a.m. every morning, Kanye’s “Can’t Tell Me Nothing” wakes me up. 12 a.m. every night Isaiah Rashad’s “West Savannah” puts me to bed. I hope to pursue a career as a rap music video director. While doing that I also plan on reporting for a local news television station or working in a big city working as a rap journalist.

A$AP Mob performs at Coachella. Photo by Koury Angelo

A$AP Mob performs at Coachella. Photo by Koury Angelo

Like most journalism, rap journalism is on the decline. Powerhouse media outlets Complex, XXL and Vibe seem to be losing momentum. While up and coming outlets like Illroots and Mass Appeal are gaining ground. I want to paint my foot in the door and establish a new medium to tell the rap stories. I want to create an outlet that digs deeper than all the other outlets put together. But that can wait. For now I will be covering rap music and below are the journalists/radio and television personalities that will help me.

 

Charlamagne Tha God  is a radio and  television personality. He is a co-host on The Breakfast Club on Power 105.1 in New York City.

Radio & TV Personality Charlamagne Tha God

Radio & TV Personality Charlamagne Tha God

Peter Rosenberg is a radio DJ and television show host of The Hot 97 Morning Show at hip hop radio station Hot 97 in New York

Nardwuar is Canadian celebrity interviewer. He is known for his wacky interview style and attire. https://twitter.com/nardwuar

Jenn Pelly is staff writer at Pitchfork. Her work has appeared in SPINRolling Stone and The New York Times. She studied literature and journalism at NYU. 

Jenn Pelly of Pitchfork Media

Jenn Pelly of Pitchfork Media

Jon Caramanica is a writer for the New York Times. He has interviewed Kanye West.

 

Kanye West article written by JON CARAMANICA // Photo by Nick Knight

Kanye West article written by JON CARAMANICA // Photo by Nick Knight

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

