Michaela Gilmer, Aspiring Sports Journalist

You can follow me on Twitter by clicking here. I am a full-time student majoring in Journalism at the School of Journalism and Communications at the University of Oregon. I am currently a second-year student.I am the treasurer of the National Association of Black Journalists UO Chapter (NABJO). I attend weekly and monthly meetings for the group. NABJ has monthly meetings where we invite all journalism students at the UO to participate in the planning process for all events, workshops, etc presented by NABJUO. In August 2013, I attended the NABJ National Conference in Orlando, Florida where I met journalists from all over the country and attended a variety of media-based workshops. I will be attending the conference again this year in Boston. In summer 2013, I interned for a PR firm, Dreams in Heels PR, in New York City. Working in PR was a great experience and I learned countless valuable skills that will be of great benefit to me later on in my career.  Although I loved PR, I want to work in magazine journalism. As a journalist today, it is crucial to have expertise in multiple media outlets. Magazine journalism is one of the few forms of print journalism that is still thriving. There is a huge shift happening with print journalism and magazine publications because of the increase of online exposure; some are only web-based. Although it is quickly changing, journalism is one of the most crucial fields to both work in and consume. Journalists have the ability to create, inspire and share the events of the world. Journalism is a literary art form, but is also rooted in social action because journalists create ideas and stories that generate numerous responses and actions. For example, if I write a story about a low-budget high school where men’s basketball could no longer be offered, anyone who reads my story could take action on the issue I presented. Individuals may contact the school board and demand a meeting about the budget and the severity of cutting men’s basketball. I want to cover this aspect of journalism because I want to expose these issues in order to lead to action in changing them. I would love to work in either the music or sports industry. I want to work in sports because there are many complexities with both amateur and professional sports. I want to write about ethics and politics within sports, specifically baseball, basketball and football. There needs to more research about NBA/NFL/MLB fines and how these fines are not the answer to fixing problems. Ultimately, my goal is to write and work for ESPN the Magazine.

About Michaela Gilmer

I am a full-time student majoring in Journalism at the University of Oregon. I am passionate about working in either sports or music. For my entire life, I have wanted to develop my career around helping others and I plan on doing just that through reporting journalism. I believe journalism is a literary art form, but is also rooted in social action because journalists create ideas and stories that generate numerous responses and actions. For example, if I write a story about a low-budget high school where men’s basketball could no longer be offered, anyone who reads my story could take action on the issue I presented. Individuals may contact the school board and demand a meeting about the budget and the severity of cutting men’s basketball. I want to cover this aspect of journalism because I want to expose these issues in order to lead to action in changing them. I want to work in sports because there are many complexities with both amateur and professional sports. I want to write about ethics and politics within sports, specifically baseball, basketball and football. There needs to more research about NBA/NFL/MLB fines and how these fines are not the answer to fixing problems. Ultimately, my goal is to write and work for ESPN the Magazine. I am seeking work and internship opportunities in writing, reporting, branding, digital media, marketing, business journalism and event planning/organizing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

