Images from the Gateway neighborhood

IMG_9387

The first time I visited the Gateway area of Springfield, Ore. was over two years ago, and my first impression was “what a boring, generic neighborhood.” I felt like I’d seen the same type of mall and surrounding businesses (mostly made up of restaurant chains and hotels) that make up Gateway a million times before.

But I started to appreciate the area the more I learned about it, and as I took the photos shown below, I discovered that it is not as mundane as it might seem at first glance.

The Gateway mall was the first place my group members and I visited. This is almost certainly the most popular attraction in the Gateway area.

The Gateway Mall was the first place my group members and I visited. This is almost certainly the most popular attraction in the Gateway area.

There are two movie theaters in the mall: one plays current releases and the other plays films that are in their final stages of big-screen existence. The latter theater (called Cinemark Movies 12, shown in this photo) sells tickets for less than $2 per person.

There are two movie theaters in the mall: one plays current releases and the other plays films that are in their final stages of their big-screen existence. The latter (called Cinemark Movies 12, shown in this photo) sells tickets for less than $2 per person.

Like any mall, shopping reigns supreme. Gateway has stores such as Target, Kohls, Ross, and Sears, among others.

Like any mall, shopping reigns supreme. Gateway has stores such as Target, Kohls, Ross, and Sears.

A small section of the mall's parking lot.

A small section of the mall’s parking lot.

This Hollywood Video store was closed down in October of 2009 (!) and is completely empty except for...

This Hollywood Video store was closed down in October of 2009 (!) and is completely empty except for…

... a few leftover DVDs.

… a handful of leftover DVDs. It was eerie seeing this building so deserted.

Hollywood Video isn't the only empty store in the mall; Circuit City also closed their Gateway location in 2009. Walmart plans to open one of their stores in the location of this out-of-business Circuit City sometime this year.

Hollywood Video isn’t the only empty store in the mall; Circuit City also closed their Gateway location in 2009. Walmart plans to open one of their stores in the location of this out-of-business Circuit City sometime this year.

Some cracked glass in one of Circuit City's windows.

Some cracked glass in one of Circuit City’s windows.

Down the road from the mall  -- on Gateway St. off of Beltline Rd -- is another one of America's fine restaurant chains!

Down the road from the mall — on Gateway St. off of Beltline Rd — is one of the many restaurant chains in the area.

My view from Aleccia Moss' car on our way down Gateway St. due south.

My view from my group member Aleccia Moss’ car on our way down Gateway St. due south.

About Victor Flores

I'm living my dream, working as a sports reporter. Since August 8, 2014, I've been covering high school sports, Idaho Falls Chuckars baseball and Idaho State football for the Idaho Falls Post Register. In June 2014, I graduated from the University of Oregon with a Bachelor or Arts in journalism. Before being hired by the Post Register, I was the 2014 summer editor-in-chief of the UO's student newspaper, the Daily Emerald. Prior to that, I was an associate sports editor at the Emerald. I've also worked for the UO radio station, 88.1 KWVA (sports and news reporter), FishDuck.com (sports writer) and Bleacher Report (contributing writer). I've interned at Comcast SportsNet Bay Area, Cumulus Radio and Medienhaus Wien (in Vienna, Austria). Follow me on Twitter @VictorFlores_IF and on Instagram @vflores2014.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

