Intro to Victor Flores

Me at Bone Bash

I have wanted to become a professional writer since I was a junior in high school, and my aspirations have only gotten stronger in the years since then. Becoming a sports writer would be my dream job, but I am very open to writing about other topics or doing something else in the field of journalism. My classes at the U of O have caused me to discover new skills and passions for fields such as photojournalism and multimedia producing. These classes have challenged me to work hard without ever making me reconsider being a journalism major. People mention that journalism isn’t a very lucrative field and I am well aware of some of the other less appealing aspects of journalism, but I know in my heart that this is the right subject for me to focus on.

I am from San Francisco, CA, where the success of the Giants and the 49ers when I was a kid made me love sports more than anybody I’ve ever met. I also pay a lot of attention to the entertainment industry and I try to stay up to date on U.S. and world news (I really wish nytimes.com was free to read).

I am a junior at UO and I’m minoring in Psychology to go along with my major in news/editorial journalism. I’ve got a couple of baseball blogs and I used to write for Bleacher Report (like I said, I’m a sports lover).

I’m looking forward to J361, even though it’s already stressing me out. I welcome the stress, though; it shows I’m working hard.

About Victor Flores

I'm living my dream, working as a sports reporter. Since August 8, 2014, I've been covering high school sports, Idaho Falls Chuckars baseball and Idaho State football for the Idaho Falls Post Register. In June 2014, I graduated from the University of Oregon with a Bachelor or Arts in journalism. Before being hired by the Post Register, I was the 2014 summer editor-in-chief of the UO's student newspaper, the Daily Emerald. Prior to that, I was an associate sports editor at the Emerald. I've also worked for the UO radio station, 88.1 KWVA (sports and news reporter), FishDuck.com (sports writer) and Bleacher Report (contributing writer). I've interned at Comcast SportsNet Bay Area, Cumulus Radio and Medienhaus Wien (in Vienna, Austria). Follow me on Twitter @VictorFlores_IF and on Instagram @vflores2014.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

