Robert Wald: Ocean Magazine Q&A

Q&A

Robert Wald: Founder of Ocean Magazine

1. When did you start Ocean Magazine?
Robert: I first launched OM in February 2003.

2. What is the main purpose of Ocean Magazine?
Robert: To serve up a nice slice of coast and ocean culture. This includes most any activity I think is relative to OM, surfing being a very important part, but also featuring great artists, writers, musicians and other eclectics I feel are worthy.

3. How much time a week do you spend on progressing your business?
Robert: A lot! I never sat down to figure it out…but it seems like a 24/7 job, but I really don’t think about the hours I spend working, I just do it. I also sprinkle ukulele playing time in between actual hard core work.

4. Why did you start Ocean Magazine?
Robert: I was a commercial fisherman for most of my life, and when I quit that at 50 years old, no one would hire me. Basically most prospective employers thought I was washed up. But I showed them, didn’t I?

What advice would you give to someone who is thinking about doing the same thing?
Robert: Don’t do it! It’s a major commitment and it could drive one to drink.

Would you consider making multimedia a part of Ocean Mag?
Robert: No…not at this time anyway, but I can’t say I wouldn’t do it in the future.

About melissa4murray

My name is Melissa, but you can call me melmur. I am a Journalism student at the University of Oregon. I am a long and lanky athlete. I play lacrosse and I ride my Gravity board down big hills to pump adrenaline through my veins. I go on long bike rides with my Dad, while my Mother and I raid TravelZoo to find our next big adventure. I am fascinated by the Mexican culture. I lived in Queretaro for a year and stuffed myself with street tacos. I love Mexico. Despite what the media says about the dangers lurking in this country, I can tell you right now, there is nothing to worry about. I spent the majority of my time traveling and look! I am still alive. I love food, so we should meet up for lunch sometime!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

