Enterprise Story update: The Green SE

Amazon Headwaters

By Jenni Moore

After emailing my previous source, Principal BJ Blake, I got a referral to the advisor of Spencer Butte Middle School’s Green Club. Since my topic is Environmental Concerns in Southeast Eugene, I thought it would be a great sidebar idea to have some information on how those concerns are prevalent in the education system.

I emailed Steve Connelly right away, and I am now waiting for his response. My greatest hope is that they will hold a club meeting sometime in the next week or two so that I can attend and talk to some of the students. If I do not get a response from Steven in the next couple of days, I may just resort to an interview with BJ Blake again.

My other interviewee is named Lisa Warnes. We’ve been in contact for a few days now and I have planned to meet her in the neighborhood while she works on a community project. Although I planned on interviewing her at the Amazon Headwaters site near Amazon Creek, I think I could settle for seeing her work on another community projects.

Lisa is the Vice President on the Board of Directors for Save the Amazon Headwaters, so I know she’ll have a lot of the insight I need into the concerns of the southeast community.

My biggest concern is finding enough people to interview, but tomorrow I’m just going to head out to Southeast Eugene during class time to get some quick input from those in the neighborhood. Since there are some online sources like the Southeast Neighbors website and the site for the ‘Save the Amazon Headwaters’ cause, I’m confident that I will find enough sources.

About jennimo13

My name is Jenni Moore. I'm a Journalism student at the University of Oregon with a focus in magazine and a minor in Multimedia Arts. I love exercise, animals, volleyball, music, fashion, food and pop culture. I maintain a fairly liberal standpoint on almost every issue. I have a boyfriend name Philip and I hope to get a puppy in about a year. I'm enjoying growing up and am getting closer to getting my very own apartment by myself. It's scary stuff, but it's also very exciting!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

