Media Analysis: J-Schools Get an F in Finance

By Chelsea Bishop

While reading J-Schools Get an F in Finance, I was reminded of the article Doing Journalism in 2010 is an Act of Community Organizing that we read earlier in the term. The gist of both of these articles is that in the mere future, journalists are really going to have to become comfortable with social media and with being their own boss, so to speak. They will have to take responsibility for the success of their career by being in control and aware of all aspects of it.

Image From Chemistryland.com

I fully agree with the points Paul Gillin made in this blog post. I have long suspected that an education strictly in journalism is probably not enough to get you ahead in the world, which is why I got a minor in business. However, I never understood why the University of Oregon‘s journalism program requires eight credits of economics. I mean, what is that? I know that plenty of my fellow J majors have been bewildered by this component of our curriculum as well, because a lot of them simply do not have the kind of brain that understands economics and lament the negative effect the resulting grade has on their GPA. But now I understand that the UO is not only trying to torture us with numbers and formulas we don’t understand, but to give us an edge in our field by having a (however weak) grasp on the financial side of things.

After reading this article I am actually somewhat grateful for the hours spent staring blankly at my notes (and doodles) from my Macroeconomics class, and I don’t think that the UO is failing its journalism students, which is encouraging. Especially in a world like today’s, in which is appears remarkably easy for journalists to fail themselves.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

