Monday Night at “The Old Pad”


The Old Pad is a sports bar in Southeast Eugene that maintains the relaxed, hippie spirit of Eugene. No one greeted us when we walked in so we seated ourselves.

The bar is well-lit, clean, and stocked with University of Oregon athletic paraphernalia. Most of the customers were men, and many were middle-aged. The bar was quiet, but buzzing with energy from the Blazers’ game that was shown on all three big-screen TVs and reflected in the many large mirrors around the bar.

Lottery games and KENO cards were easy to spot, while food menus were nowhere in sight. The bartender was very friendly and acted quickly when I requested a food menu. An illustration of Steve Prefontain, the UO track star who used to work at The Old Pad, was featured on the cover of the menu. It was then that I noticed that a memorial picture of Pre, along with many other athlete’s photos, hung right behind our booth.

Although the lovely smell of french fries filled the air around me, I ordered the Nacho Supreme with beef. The food was superb. Overall, it was a relaxing bar experience; a nice change from typical, college town nightlife.

About jennimo13

My name is Jenni Moore. I'm a Journalism student at the University of Oregon with a focus in magazine and a minor in Multimedia Arts. I love exercise, animals, volleyball, music, fashion, food and pop culture. I maintain a fairly liberal standpoint on almost every issue. I have a boyfriend name Philip and I hope to get a puppy in about a year. I'm enjoying growing up and am getting closer to getting my very own apartment by myself. It's scary stuff, but it's also very exciting!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

