A Productive Evening in Cal Young

It’s Monday evening and I come home after a long, cold and fun day of kayaking. I strip out of my wetsuit, put on a pot of tea and place my numb fingers to the keyboard. I see an email from Leah saying “We’re supposed to do our neighborhood blogs like today right?” Oh snap, thanks for the reminder Leah, and you to Suzi as I headed to WordPress and Twitter next. What to do? Since it had been a long day on the river and all I had eaten so far today was an apple and a bowl of oatmeal my stomach was doing most of the thinking. “Hawaiin Time is in Cal Young,” my stomach said.

I order the number #6,  Skinless boneless chicken grilled to a golden brown, dripping with a sweet and spicy lava sauce served with two scoops of rice and a scoop of macaroni salad, so the menu says. I order it “Alii” size. I don’t know what that means in Polynesian but I create my own definition for it, “for happy stomachs.”

Now that my hunger was appeased I decide to head over to Borders.

I can spend all day in a book shop, in fact I’ve read three full novels while inside book shops before, but that is not what I’m here for. I’m behind on gift shopping as I’ve missed three birthdays, two of my niece’s, and my dad’s. I blame missing these birthdays mainly on J361 Reporting 1 class and these silly things called deadlines. I need to get this birthday shopping out of the way because holiday season is just around the corner.

While I’m at the bookstore I also see calenders off all sorts of different kinds of dogs. My girlfriend and I are debating what kind of dog to get when we have time to devote to one. She loves these little dogs with fury faces. I want a mix between a german shepherd and a husky. I pick her up a 2010 calender of huskies to help nudge the debate in my favor.

Suzi, if you still need a calender for next year Borders has this one.

While looking for gifts I came across an interesting read. It’s called When Ninjas Attack. I found out that speed is the best defense against ninjas. The book suggests we run 4 miles a day at a pace of 5 minutes per mile and run 20 miles once a week at a pace of 6 minutes per mile. If you can not do this you are vulnerable to ninjas. How is that for motivation? The book also suggests that a good defense against ninjas would be a water moat around your house. Suggested animals to defend the moat are great white sharks, crocodiles, and box jelly fish. It’s a very thorough and informative book.

Another interesting read I came across is The Official Chuck Norris Fact Book. There’s been a big creation and following of Chuck Norris “facts” online. For instance, Chuck Norris destroyed the periodic table because he only recognizes the element of suprise. Chuck Norris can eat just one Lay’s Potato Chip. Chuck Norris can kill two stones with one bird. In the book the top 101 Chuck Norris Facts are presented and Chuck Norris talks about them. Only he doesn’t really talk about them, he uses them as a segway to talk about something totally unrelated and then somehow ties it back at the end. Another must read.

After I left Borders next stop was Trader Joes. I picked up some discounted bread and hummus which I am eating as we speak! Yum. Interestingly enough Trader Joe’s is owned by Germans. Read a blog about it here.

Finally, I came to the Nike store to look at all the expensive stuff I shouldn’t by but might.

Luckily I didn’t buy anything, but the main reason I didn’t is there is no soccer stuff in the Nike store in Eugene. Come on Nike, you started here, and you can’t seem to fit any of your soccer gear in the store of your hometown? You sponsor some of the best teams in the world, Manchester United, Barcelona, Arsenal, Celtic, Brazila and the USA (going to win the world cup this year). It’s the world’s most popular sport but you can’t even fit one rack of space? I’m very dissapointed about this, But Nike does have some cool things going on. One is their recycle shoe program. If you have any shoes you’re no longer wearing you can drop them off at the Nike store and they’ll put them to good use. 2472 shoes have been recycled at the store, and I’m proud to say 3 of those pairs were mine, If only I didn’t wear out soccer shoes in less than half a year my checking account would like me better. Also, Nike has the Nike ID going on, where you can make custom shoes on their website, starting with basic designs and changing colors and adding text. I didn’t spend any money at the store, but now I have designs in my head for a Black and Yellow Zoom Indoor Soccer Shoe with “Mehr” on one side and “9″ on the other.

So I leave the Nike store and I head back from Cal Young with a full stomach, some munchies to snack on later, all my belated birthday shopping done, a little gift for my girlfriend and an education on how to defend against ninjas. I’m sorry I don’t visit you more often Cal Young, thanks for a productive evening.

About davidmehr

I'm a Journalism student at the University of Oregon. I'm also a rock climbing instructor and a soccer referee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

